Evaluation Criteria

Finalists will be evaluated based upon several factors, including:

Eligibility Criteria

The Developer Grants will be available to organizations in: Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, New Zealand, Spain, Switzerland, the Netherlands, US and the UK, as well as these countries in Africa: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Rep, Chad, Comoros, Côte d'Ivoire, Congo, Dem. Rep. Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Reunion, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zanzibar, and Zimbabwe.

In your application, you must include proof of charitable tax-exempt status as approved by your country’s revenue agency (e.g. the IRS 501(c)(3) status in the US). While we encourage submissions from all eligible countries, all applications must be submitted in the English language for administrative reasons.

If your nonprofit is based in the US, you must have 501(c)(3) status with the IRS. In the UK, you must be registered with the UK Charity Commission. In Canada, you must be registered with the Canadian Revenue Agency. In Australia, your organization should be listed as active and have DGR status (Deductible Gift Recipient) or have Charitable Institution or Public Benevolent Institution status in the Australian Business Register. In New Zealand, your organization must be registered with the New Zealand Charities Commission Charities Register. For the Australia, New Zealand, US, UK and Canada, you must provide links to a search results page of their online database with a positive hit for your organization. You can provide a Guidestar search results page for the US, Charity Commission search results for the UK, Australian Business Register search results for Australia, Charities Register search results for New Zealand, and Canadian Revenue Agency search results for Canada.

If your organization is headquartered in the select African countries, Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, or Switzerland, please visit the Google Earth Outreach Grants program pages in your country, review the requirements for proof of nonprofit status, and attach proof of tax exempt status to the Application form, or send appropriate proof of tax-exempt status to geo-grants@google.com.

Policy Guidelines

When we consider your organization’s application for the program, we’ll review the content of the application as well as your website and any other links that you provide. Ineligible nonprofits include, but are not limited to, those whose websites or missions are identified in the “Restrictions” below.


  1. To be eligible for the Google Earth Outreach Developer Grants program, organizations must:
    • Hold current country-specific nonprofit tax-exempt status per the eligibility guidelines above; and
    • Acknowledge and agree to the application's required certifications regarding nondiscrimination and donation receipt and use.
  2. Please note that the following organizations are not eligible for Google for Nonprofits:
    • Governmental entities and organizations;
    • Hospitals and health care organizations;
    • Schools, childcare centers, academic institutions, and universities (philanthropic arms of educational organizations are eligible). To learn more about Google's programs for educational institutions, visit Google in Education.
Google reserves the right to grant or deny an organization's application or participation at any time, for any reason, and to supplement or amend these eligibility guidelines at any time. Selections are made at Google's sole discretion, and are not subject to external review. Google reserves the right to award or deny the application of any organization. Selections are made at Google's sole discretion, and decisions regarding award recipients are final.