Learning Centre

 
   

4. Tracking Ad Performance

4a. Quality and Performance Basics

How It Works

Objective: Learn about how quality impacts Google search results, ads and the performance of your account. Find out how to monitor your performance.

Ad Relevance and Quality 

People use Google because they find what they are looking for fast — whether it be the latest news, best candy bar or closest pizzeria. This is the essence of relevance: Google provides users with the most relevant search results based on their search.

However, relevancy does not end with our search results. We also work to show the most relevant ads for every search query. This model works for users and advertisers alike: The more relevant the ads are, the more likely users are to click on your ads now and again in the future.

We measure relevancy for search and ads differently.

  • For search results, relevance and ranking are automatically determined by over 100 factors, including Google's patented PageRank algorithm.
  • For AdWords ads, the most important factor in relevance and ranking is the ad's quality, also called the Quality Score. This measurement is the strongest representation of how useful a user has found an ad to be and is central to the AdWords cost-per-click (CPC) pricing model.

How AdWords Monitors Performance 

AdWords uses a dynamic variable called 'Quality Score' to evaluate keyword relevance. Quality Score is based on your keyword's click-through rate (CTR) on Google; the relevance of your ad text, keyword, and landing page; and several other relevance factors.

A Quality Score is calculated every time your keyword matches a search query-that is, every time your keyword has the potential to trigger an ad. Quality Score is used in several different ways, including influencing your keywords' actual cost-per-clicks (CPCs) and the first page bid estimates that you see in your account. It also partly determines if a keyword is eligible to enter the ad auction that occurs when a user enters a search query and, if it is, how high the ad will be ranked. In general, the higher your Quality Score, the lower your costs and the better your ad position.

Quality Score helps ensure that only the most relevant ads appear to users on Google and the Google Network. The AdWords system works best for everybody-advertisers, users, publishers, and Google too-when the ads we display match our users' needs as closely as possible. Relevant ads tend to earn more clicks, appear in a higher position, and bring you the most success.

How You Can Monitor Performance 

Due to the dynamic nature of search, your keywords' Quality Scores can fluctuate often. Therefore, it's a good idea to keep tabs on your performance and make adjustments as needed.

To analyse your account performance quickly, use the following resources:

  • Keyword Analysis page: Check the Keyword Analysis page to get a detailed view about your keyword's performance - including how Quality Score impacts your keyword and ad performance and how you can improve it. You'll also find your first page bid estimate, which tells you the cost-per-click (CPC) bid likely needed for your keyword to trigger ads on the first page of search results. To launch the Keyword Analysis page, point your cursor over the magnifying glass icon beside any keyword in your account; then click one of the 'Details and recommendations' links.

  • Keyword Status: View the 'Status' column on the 'Keywords' tab of your Ad Group Details page. Your keyword status indicates whether or not your keyword is triggering ads to appear on search results pages. As mentioned, each of your keywords (except any negative keywords) is identified by a keyword state. Here's the full breakdown:

    • Active: Active keywords are eligible to trigger ads. You may see the following two notes beneath the 'Active' status:
      • Bid is below first page bid estimate of ____: This will appear if your keyword's cost-per-click (CPC) bid doesn't meet the amount likely to place your ad on the first page of Google web search.
      • Ads show rarely due to low Quality Score: This will appear if your keyword's Quality Score is very low and preventing your ad from accruing much traffic. In this case, we recommend following these optimisation tips to improve your Quality Score.

    • Disapproved: These keywords don't comply with our Editorial Guidelines or Content Policy and won't trigger ads until you correct the problem.

    • Paused/Deleted: These are keywords you've paused or deleted. They won't enter the ad auction and therefore won't trigger your ads.

    To learn how to enable a keyword that isn't running, visit the Keyword Status troubleshooting topic.

  • CTR Column: View the 'CTR' column on your Campaign Summary page to see how well a campaign is performing. The higher the click-through rate (CTR), the better the campaign is probably doing.

For more in-depth performance tracking, we suggest that you set up conversion tracking or Google Analytics.

 
 

4b. Ad Visibility and Troubleshooting

Account-Wide Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues at the account level that may prevent ads from showing.

Email Verification 

In order to activate your account, you must first verify your email address. If you have not verified your email address and you attempt to sign in to your account, you will receive a message asking you to check your email to verify your email address.

Visit your email account and open the email verification notice from AdWords. Click on the link in the email to verify your email address and access your account. Then continue with the activation instructions.

Billing Information 

Once you verify your email address, the next step is to enter your billing information. If you have not entered your billing information, a message will be displayed when you log in to your AdWords account reminding you to do so.

Click on the link in the message or click on the My Account tab and then Billing Preferences in your AdWords account to enter your billing information. If you are using a credit card or debit card, make sure to enter the billing address that matches the credit card.

Your ads will appear on Google after you have entered valid credit card or debit card information. In the case of direct debit, a debit authorisation may have to be received and processed before your ads will start running. If you choose to pay via prepay, your ads may appear once funds have been received via credit card or bank transfer or after your bank transfer setup is complete.

For more information on the payment options available for your billing location and currency, visit the Billing lesson.

Declined Payment 

If we are unable to process a payment for your account, your ads will temporarily stop running and you will receive an email regarding the declined payment. A message will also be displayed when you log in to your AdWords account.

If you are not sure why a payment is declined, use the following checklist to figure out possible reasons:

  1. Have you entered valid payment details (such as credit card number or expiry date)?
  2. Do you have sufficient funds in your account or have you reached your daily, weekly or monthly spend limit?
  3. Have you entered the correct billing address?
If your payment is still declined, contact the financial institution handling the funds to get more details about a declined payment.

 
 
Campaign-Specific Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues at the campaign level that may prevent your ads from showing.

Campaign Status 

If a campaign is Paused, Deleted or Ended, ads within that campaign will not show. Follow the steps below to reactivate your campaign from your Campaign Summary page:

  • Paused: Tick the box next to the name of the campaign and click the 'Resume' button above the Campaign Summary table.
  • Deleted: Click on the name of the campaign to go to the Campaign Details page. Then click on the 'Undelete Campaign' link that appears next to the campaign name.
  • Ended: Change the campaign end date. Tick the box next to the name of the campaign and click 'Edit Settings'. Adjust your end date next to the 'Will run until' section, under the Basic Settings heading.

Daily Budget Settings 

Your ads might not show if your campaign is close to reaching, or has already reached, its daily budget.

To see whether your daily budget is being met, visit your Campaign Summary page, set the date range above the table to yesterday and compare the Current Budget column with the Cost column. If you exceeded your daily budget yesterday, your ads may stop running before today's daily budget is reached.

We might exceed your daily budget when we determine that your ad can benefit from more exposure on particularly heavy traffic days. However, our system makes sure that in a given billing period, you are never charged more than the number of days in that month multiplied by your daily budget. Visit the Billing lesson for more information.

To view the recommended daily budget for a campaign or to edit the existing daily budget, go to the Edit Campaign Settings page and click Recommended Budget. This recommendation will be high enough to capture all the clicks the system estimates your ads will receive with full exposure.

Remember that this number is only a recommendation and you should set your daily budget at a level with which you are comfortable. If you do not wish to raise your daily budget, you can try refining your keywords by using the techniques found in the Optimisation lessons.

Ads Targeted Outside Your Region 

You can target your campaigns to specific languages and geographic regions. However, if these targets do not include your own language settings and geographic location, you will not be able to see your ads.

  • To view or edit the language targeting for your campaign, check the Languages section under Target Audience on your Edit Campaign Settings page. Ensure that your Google interface language (which you can view by clicking the Preferences link on your Google home page) is included on the list of selected languages.

  • To view or edit the geographical targeting settings for your campaign, check the Locations section under Target Audience on your Edit Campaign Settings page. Ensure that your own geographic location is included within the geographic regions that you have chosen.
For more information about targeting your ads, visit the Language and Location Targeting lesson.

Campaign Negative Keywords 

If there is overlap between your negative and regular keywords, the negative keyword will block your regular keywords from showing. To ensure that this is not happening in your campaign, review the negative keywords and make changes where necessary. This will allow your keywords to show your ad.

To learn more about negative keywords, please refer to the Keyword Matching lesson.

The Google Network 

If your ad isn't appearing on sites in the Google Network, check to make sure that your campaign is opted in to our content or search networks by visiting your Edit Campaign Settings page. (Sign in to your account > Tick·the appropriate campaign > Click the Edit Settings button). You can opt in to the search network, the content network, or both under the Networks and bidding section of this page.

For ads to be shown·on partner sites, the ads must:

  • Be reviewed and approved
  • Be in a campaign that is opted in to the Google Network
  • Meet partner requirements, which vary
To determine whether an ad is being shown·on our search or content partner network, check·the Search and Content totals on the Summary tab in your ad group. If no content impressions have occurred, you can check the Average Position column to make sure that your ads have a high enough average position to appear on the Google Network. Many of our partners only accept the ads that rank highest on Google.

 
 
Ad Group-Specific Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues at the Ad Group level that may prevent ads from showing.

CPC or CPM Bid and Daily Budget 

If the cost-per-click (CPC) or cost-per-thousand impressions (CPM) bid for your Ad Group is higher than your campaign daily budget, the ads will not run. To lower your CPC or CPM bid from the campaign details page, tick the box next to your Ad Group and click on the Edit Bids button.

Ad Group Status 

Ads in paused or deleted ad groups will not be displayed. To resume a paused ad group, tick the box next to the ad group and click the Resume button above the Campaign Details table. To restore a deleted ad group, click the Undelete Ad Group link next to the ad group title and status at the top of the page.

Ad Approval Status 

We may disapprove an ad if it does not meet Google's editorial and policy guidelines. If an ad is disapproved, it will stop running. When you have a disapproved ad, an alert box will appear in your account. In addition, your ad will also be marked as 'Disapproved'.

Click on View reason(s) under the affected ad to see the specific disapproval reasons. Then make the appropriate changes. Editing your ad will automatically re-submit it for review. Visit our Editorial Guidelines to learn more.

To view all your disapproved ads, you can click View all ads in the alert box. You can also go directly to the Tools > Disapproved Ads page to make corrections to your ads.

Adult Content 

Ads for sites containing sexually explicit material will only show alongside search results on Google.com that contain adult material. A Google search results page that contains very little adult content will not display adult ads.

To enable an adult ad to show, use specific keywords that are relevant to your targeted audience. You can also try searching for one of your keywords in combination with a more sexually explicit phrase, such as 'xxx'.

Please note, some of the sites in the Google Network may restrict advertising or keywords based on their own policies regarding content and editorial standards.

Missing Keyword, Placement or Ad Text 

If you're running a search campaign, make sure that you have at least one keyword and one ad in your ad group. If you're targeting the content network with a campaign setting of 'Relevant pages across the entire network', make sure that the ad group contains at least one ad and one keyword or placement. If you're targeting the content network with a campaign setting of 'Relevant pages only on the placements I target', make sure that the ad group has at least one ad and one placement.

 
 
Keyword- and Placement-Specific Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues with your keywords or placements that may prevent your ads from being displayed.

Keyword or Placement Bids 

If you have chosen to specify values for your keywords or placements, remember to make sure that the CPC or CPM values do not exceed your campaign's daily budget.

Keyword Status 

Your ad will not show for keywords that are disapproved, deleted, or paused. You can see the status of a keyword in the Status column on your Ad Group Details page.

  • Disapproved keywords: Refer to the disapproval email you received for instructions on how to re-enable a disapproved keyword. Or, visit the Editorial Guidelines page or the Content Policy page.

  • Deleted keywords: Re-add the deleted keyword to your ad group to re-enable it. If you delete a keyword and add it back to your account in any other format or any other location (another ad group, for instance) our system takes the keyword's account-wide performance into consideration. A poor performer can affect an entire ad group or campaign. For this reason, we recommend you regularly review your account's performance and either optimise poorly performing keywords or increase their CPC bids.

  • Paused keywords: To resume a paused keyword, check the box next to the keyword on your Ad Group Details page and click 'Unpause.'

To launch the Keyword Analysis page and learn more about your keyword status, point your cursor over the magnifying glass icon beside any keyword in your account. A help bubble appears, which gives you a snapshot of your keyword's Quality Score and whether or not your keyword is triggering ads. Then, click one of the 'Details and recommendations' links to access the Keyword Analysis page.

Ads Showing Rarely Due to Low Quality Score 

If your keyword's bid doesn't meet the first page bid estimate and its Quality Score is very low, the Status column of the Keywords tab in your Ad Group Details page will read Active: Ads show rarely due to low Quality Score. Neither the Status column nor the Keyword Analysis page will show the first page bid estimate. This is to emphasise the importance of improving your keyword's Quality Score through optimisation rather than increasing its bid. Optimisation will save you money, plus help ensure the quality of the AdWords program and the overall user experience.

If you see this message in your Status column, visit the Keyword Analysis page for more information on your Quality Score.

 
 

4c. Reports

How to Create a Report

Objective: Understand what reports are and how they are used. Learn where to find reporting features and how to create customised reports based on your needs.

Reports Explained 

Reports are collections of statistics that help advertisers analyse their accounts.

The AdWords Report Centre can generate fully customisable reports on specific topics such as campaigns, keywords and ad text. These reports allow users to identify important trends over weeks, months or years. Most reports can also be viewed as graphs, which offer a clear view of spikes and dips in traffic, CTR or other key elements of an account. Because each report can be customised with configurable columns and performance filters, they provide the information required to help you identify your strengths and build on them and to sniff out areas of low performance and optimise them accordingly.

You can view your reports online or you can download them to your computer and view them with a spreadsheet application such as Microsoft Excel. You can also have reports generated and emailed to you regularly.

Creating AdWords Reports 

We currently offer nine types of performance reports, each fully customisable, based on the levels and types of data that you want included. These report types, which cover the basic data that users most often want to see, are:

  • Keyword Performance: Displays details on selected keywords and organises statistics by keyword.
  • Ad Performance: Presents relevant statistics for ad variations, such as text ads, image ads, video ads and local business ads.
  • URL Performance: Displays statistics and measures the performance of Destination URLs.
  • Ad Group Performance: Organises statistics for each of your ad groups.
  • Campaign Performance: Organises statistics for each of your campaigns.
  • Account Performance: Generates statistics for your entire account or for a portion of your account.
  • Search Query Performance: Shows performance data for the search queries that triggered your ads which appeared after receiving clicks.
  • Placement Performance: Shows statistics for ads that appeared on specific domains or URLs in the Google content network.
  • Reach and Frequency Performance: Find out how many people saw your ads and how many times they saw them over a certain period of time.

Creating your report is as simple as following our four step form and then clicking 'Create Report' when you have finished. Here is how to do this:

  1. Report Type: To begin creating your report, select your Report Type from radio buttons beside each report name. Your options on the remainder of the page will adjust according to the type of report that you have chosen.
  2. Settings: In this section, you establish your report View and Date Range and which ad groups and campaigns are to be included.
    • View: Choose 'Summary' for a high-level overview of all your selected stats or choose from among 'Hourly (by date or regardless of date)', 'Daily', 'Weekly', 'Day of week', 'Monthly', 'Quarterly' or 'Yearly' metrics for your account.
    • Date Range: Use the pull-down menu and select a time period (i.e. 'Last seven days', 'Last 30 days', 'This month', etc.) for your report. For specific dates for summary, Daily or Weekly views, click the date fields underneath the pull-down menu. Calendars on which you can click will be displayed to allow you to select beginning and end dates for the reports. (Note: Hourly report data is available from 1 February 2006 onwards).
    • Campaigns and Ad Groups: To include all campaigns, choose the first radio button. For individual campaigns or ad groups, choose the manual selection option and click the campaigns and/or ad groups that you want to include in your report. Choose as many or as few as you want to include.
  3. Advanced Settings: In this optional section, you can customise columns and filters so that your report includes only the data that you want to see.
    • Columns: Click the 'Add or Remove Columns' link to reveal checkboxes for each of the available column categories for your report type. You will find a wide range of choices, including Impressions, Clicks, CTR, Avg CPC, Cost, Avg Position, Campaign, Daily Budget, Campaign Status, Ad Group, Ad Group Status, Headline, Display URL and many others. As you add or remove columns, the visual column display is updated based on your selections.
    • Filters: Click the link to 'Filter Your Results' for filter options based on your report type. Filters allow you to refine up to four data types. Use the pull-down to select and customise the relevant data types for your report. Depending on your report type, your filter options may include Ad Distribution, Status, Match Type, Site/ Keyword, Avg Position, Clicks, Cost, Avg CPC, CTR and Impressions, among others.
  4. Templates, Scheduling and Email: In this section, you will name your report, save it as a template if you want to use your settings again and provide an email and format for receiving your report.
    • Name Your Report: Enter a title for your report. Choose a name that will be easy to recognise when you see it on a list of other reports that you have created.
    • Templates: Tick the box to 'Save this as a report template' if you want to run similar reports later.
    • Scheduling: If you want to run this report on a regular basis, tick the box to schedule automatic reports and choose from the pull-down schedule menu (for delivery daily, every Monday or on the first of every month).
    • Email: To receive an email when your report is ready, tick the box and then list the email address or addresses you want notified (for multiple addresses, separate each email with a comma). If you want your report to be attached to the email, tick the next box and select your preferred report format from the pull-down menu (.csv, .csv for Excel, .tsv, .xml, .html).

You have almost finished! Now, just click the 'Create Report' button and you will see a screen confirming that your report has been submitted.

At the top of the page, you will see Google's estimate of how long your report will take to generate. (Most reports take a few minutes or less.) A text box is displayed next, directing you to the Download Centre, where you can review your report when it is completed. To the right, you will see details of the report that you have just run.

An important note: You do not have to wait at this page for your report to finish running. You can continue to browse through your account, sign off for a while or even shut down your computer and return later. The report will continue to run and should be ready when you return. And if you requested an email notification and/or attached report, the report notice and attachment will be sent as soon as the report is completed.

You can view your report online in three formats: as data only, as graphs created from your data or as both data and graphs in one report.

If you prefer to download the report to your computer, you can do so in the same five formats available for emailing your report: .csv (for Excel), .csv, .tsv, .xml. and .html. .csv (comma-separated values) and .tsv (tab-separated values) files are encoded in UTF-8. These formats are recommended for users who prefer to process or review report data in text-only format. .csv (for Excel) files are encoded in UTF-16LE and are compatible with most U.S. and international versions of Microsoft Excel. Select .xml (for 'Extensible Mark-up Language') to place your statistics in a database or on a website. Select .html (for 'Hypertext Markup Language') if you want to be able to view your report as a web page. You may also open your report as a Google Spreadsheet for easy viewing and collaboration purposes.

Reports Graphs 

If you click on the View data only link, your report will contain the fields and values you selected along the top. The table is dynamic, so you can sort by each metric by clicking on the name.

If you click the View graphs only link, you will see two graphs aligned vertically. Each graph can show you one of six relevant metrics: Average CPC, Impressions, Average Position, CTR, Clicks and Cost. Click on any tab to view the graph for that metric. This feature is useful for comparing two different metrics over a certain period of time.

The View data and graphs link will combine the data and the graphs in one report.

 
 
Additional Reports Features

Objectives: Learn how to download, save and email reports, and get some basic report troubleshooting tips.

Report Centre 

Under the Reports tab in your AdWords account, you will see a link for the Report Centre. Click this link to view your reports.

In the Report Centre, you will find links to your most recently created reports, under the header Saved Templates as well as your scheduled reports and any on-demand reports that you saved as templates.

The Last 15 Reports section presents the last 15 reports that you have created, along with the date range they covered, the dates they were requested and their status (usually Completed). To view a report in this section, click the report name.

An important note: Once you create more than 15 reports, the system will automatically delete your oldest report whenever a new one arrives. If you have scheduled a daily report, for instance, the oldest report will be deleted each day to make room for the new one. You can also delete reports that you no longer want to be saved on this list by clicking on the Delete link on the far right of the report name line.

In the Saved Templates section, you can see all scheduled and on-demand reports saved as templates when you created them. The table provides the date range for each, the time when each scheduled report will run next and whether you are receiving the report by email. You can run either an on-demand report or a scheduled report by clicking the link marked Create Report .

You can also edit any of these saved templates by clicking the Edit this template link. This will open the template in the Edit Template page, which is similar to the Create Report page that you used to create the original report upon which you based the template. Here, you can revise your saved template by reassigning report values for Report Type, Date Range, View and Campaigns and Ad Groups. And you can further customise your new report by resetting the columns and filters within the Advanced Options section.

Once you have edited your template, you can choose to rename the template, schedule reports for automatic delivery, assign an email address or various email addresses for notification and select a format for report delivery. Then, simply click Save Template to finish creating a new report from your saved template.

To permanently delete a report template at any time, click the Delete link.

Creating AdWords Reports 

You can receive an email notification of a completed report or receive the report itself via email in one of five formats that you can specify when you create your report.

Tick the box next to the statement Whenever the report runs, send email to: when creating the report and then type into the text box the email address or addresses to which you want the notification to be sent when the report is finished. For multiple email recipients, separate each email address with a comma. If you schedule the report to run regularly, you will be notified each time the report runs.

By ticking the box for with report attached as: you also can choose to have your report sent as an email attachment. Select your preferred report format from the pull-down menu: csv (for excel), .csv, .tsv, .xml and .html

Please note that files will be emailed in a zip or compressed format. Compressed reports must be less than 2 megabytes in order for the report to be sent via email. If the file is larger than 2 megabytes, you will receive an email notification asking you to retrieve your report from the Report Centre.

 
 

4d. Basic ROI and Conversion Tracking

Understanding ROI

Objective: Learn how to calculate your advertising ROI (return on investment).

Calculate Your ROI 

The term 'conversion' refers to converting from leads to customers or users of your service. So if someone clicks on your AdWords ad, and buys something on your site, that click is a conversion from a site visit to a sale. Other conversions you might want to track are page views or signups.

Advertising is only effective if it generates measurable results for your business. Your Google AdWords account is an investment of time and money that you use to drive customers to your website. In this lesson, the resulting conversions are called your return on investment, or AdWords ROI.

ROI can also be called Return on Ad Spend, or ROAS. Your ROI can be calculated as revenue from sales, minus advertising costs, all divided by the cost of advertising. For example, if your advertising costs for the past week were £500 and you've sold £1,000 worth of inventory as a result, you have a 100% ROI for the week ((£1000-£500) divided by £500). To express ROI as a percentage, you multiply the result of this formula by 100.

Determining your AdWords ROI can be a very straightforward process if your business is after web-based sales. You will already have the advertising costs for a specific time period for your AdWords account in your Campaign Summary statistics. You can also create reports via the Report Centre. The net profit for your business can then be calculated based on your company's profits from sales made via your AdWords advertising, minus the cost of your advertising. Dividing your net profit by the advertising costs will give you your AdWords ROI for that period in time.

In other cases, your ROI may require a different formula. For example, if you are interested in calculating the ROI for a page view or lead, you will have to estimate the values of each of these actions. For example, a Yellow Pages ad for your business may cost US$1,000 per year and result in 100 leads. Ten of those leads become customers, and each customer provides an average profit of £120. The value of each lead is therefore £12 (100 leads/£1200 profit), and your ROI for the Yellow Pages ad is 20% ((£1200 profit minus £1000 spent)/ £1000 advertising cost) x 100.

A simple alternative to estimating values for your leads and page views is to use a cost-per-acquisition (CPA) measurement. This method will allow you to focus primarily on how your advertising costs compare to the number of acquisitions those costs deliver. Using the Yellow Pages example again, your ads may cost £1,000, resulting in 10 sales: therefore, your CPA for those ads is £100. Your CPA should not exceed your profit derived from each acquisition. In the case of the Yellow Pages ad, the CPA is 20% less than the revenue the acquisitions provide.

Example - Camera Shop 

Ultimately, your ROI calculation will help you determine the best way to spend your advertising dollars. For instance, if you represent a camera shop that sells photography equipment and provides photography classes, the keywords 'photography' and 'photography classes' could both potentially be valuable to you. However, how would you determine which keyword would have the greater potential ROI for your business?

Assume that you have a £100 daily advertising budget. The keyword 'photography' generates 110 clicks, resulting in £120 in sales, but it also costs you £60 a day. This results in an ROI of 100% for that keyword. The keyword 'photography classes' uses only £25 of the daily advertising budget, but generates 40 clicks. These clicks result in £90 in sales, with an effective ROI of 260%. This advertiser would be better served allocating more of their budget to the 'photography classes' keyword because of its higher ROI, despite the potential for fewer clicks for this keyword.

 
 
Introduction to Conversion Tracking

Objective: Understand and implement AdWords conversion tracking.

Defining a Conversion 

An AdWords conversion occurs when someone clicks on your AdWords ad and performs an action your website that you recognise as a completed sale or collected lead. Conversions can include the purchase of a digital camera, a visitor submitting their contact information for an insurance quote, or a prospective buyer downloading a white paper about your company's software capabilities.

Another important term to understand when tracking conversions is 'transaction'. While a conversion represents somebody coming to your site through AdWords and making a purchase, the transaction represents the purchase or desired visitor action itself.

Setting It Up 

Setting up conversion tracking is a straightforward process that gets you started tracking overall conversions with minimal steps. You can also select advanced conversion tracking options with more customised conversion tracking preferences such as assigning unique conversion values. With conversion tracking in general, you can specify conversion types such as purchases or sales, leads, signups and page views. You can also create your own conversion type from the Other option. The advanced settings options will be covered in detail in later topics.

To set up conversion tracking for your account, click the Conversion Tracking link on the Campaign Management tab at the top of your account.

Disabling It 

You can stop or re-start conversion tracking at any time. To do so, log into your account and click the Conversion Tracking link on the Campaign Management tab, then click Stop conversion tracking. To stop sending tracking data to Google or remove the Google Site Stats text, remove the conversion tracking code from your website. Stopping conversion tracking in your AdWords account will remove the statistics and tracking information from your AdWords account pages. However, your reporting data will still be available via the Report Centre.

 
 
Getting Your Conversion Tracking Code

Objective: Understand how to select your settings and implement your conversion tracking code.

Site Security Level and Language 

There are two important options to consider while setting up conversion tracking: the security level of the HTML code you would like to implement, and the language you want to use for your Google Site Stats link and corresponding informational page. The choice of 'http://' or 'https://' conversion tracking code is determined by the security level of your conversion page. Most shopping carts will use the more secure 'https://' option, and you can easily determine your own needs by examining the address bar in your web browser when you access your conversion page. If in doubt, use the more secure 'https://' since it will have no negative effects on your website.

Your choice of language will affect which Google Site Stats link is displayed on your conversion page. It will also give your users information about conversion tracking in a language appropriate for the majority of your site's visitors.

Implementing Your Code 

Adding the code to your website is a simple cut-and-paste procedure. Make sure that you copy all of the code from within your account and that when adding the code to your website it is completely within the HTML <BODY> </BODY> tags, as shown here:

[Purchase Conversion Default: Sample code snippet only - DO NOT USE]

<html>
<body>
<!-- Google Code for Purchase Conversion Page -->
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
var google_conversion_id = 1234567890;
var google_conversion_language = "en_US";
var google_conversion_format = "1";
var google_conversion_color = "666666";
if (1) {
  var google_conversion_value = 1;
}
var google_conversion_label = "Purchase";
//--> </script>
<script language="JavaScript"
src="http://www.googleadservices.co.uk/pagead/conversion.js">
</script>
<noscript>
<img height=1 width=1 border=0
src="http://www.googleadservices.co.uk/pagead/conversion/1234567890/?value=1&label=Purchase&script=0">
</noscript>
</body>
</html>

The Google Site Stats Link 

You should see a small text block on the conversion pages where you have placed the code. Again, you should then check your conversion reports to ensure that the conversion has recorded correctly. The Site Stats text link is an important feature of the programme. It lets users know that you are tracking their purchase, and gives them a link to more information about Google conversion tracking.

If you cannot see the Site Stats link, verify that the conversion code has been added to your webpage with no additional line breaks (compare your page to the conversion code available within your account). Some HTML editing programs will insert line breaks into the conversion code for the lines that are long enough to have wrapped to a second line in your account. The conversion tracking code should not have any line breaks inside the '<' and '>', unless there is a ';' at the end of the line.

Verifying Your Code 

You can verify if the code is working by waiting for a conversion to occur or completing a test conversion yourself. If you know that a conversion has occurred on your site from an AdWords ad, check the conversion column in your reports to see that the conversion registered. Please note that updates to your account reports may take up to 24 hours.

You can also run through the process yourself by searching on Google, clicking on one of your ads and completing a conversion on your site. However, this method costs you an ad click, so we recommend that you wait for a conversion to occur.

 
 
Using Conversion Data to Improve Your ROI

Objective: Learn to:

  • Analyse conversion statistics
  • Determine the return on investment, or ROI, of your campaigns
  • Improve campaign performance using your conversion data

Your Data 

Once you have implemented conversion tracking, two new columns will appear on all your campaign management screens. The Conversion Rate and Cost/Conversion columns give you a quick overview of how your campaigns are doing, but they do not include any of the advanced statistics available through your Report Centre.

The Conversion Rate is the percentage of clicks that become conversions. Cost/Conversion is the cost you have accrued over the time period which you are viewing, divided by the number of conversions you received as a result of those clicks. This data will give you a quick overview of how well your clicks are converting, and the average cost of those conversions.

Ad Group Data 

The conversion tracking statistics available in your AdWords account will provide the data you need to improve your ROI. Statistics are available both at the Ad Group level and via the Report Centre.

Your Ad Group summaries will include conversion rate and cost-per-conversion data. Again, conversion rate is a basic percentage, highlighting the percentage of clicks you received that resulted in a conversion. Your cost-per-conversion number represents the total cost of clicks for that campaign or Ad Group, divided by the number of conversions. This number will help you to quickly evaluate your ROI for the Ad Group as a whole.

Report Centre Data 

Your Report Centre gives you detailed and specific conversion tracking information. Generating a custom report will give you access to all your conversion statistics, including the number of transactions and your cost-per-transaction. See the Reports lesson to learn more.

A Custom Report enables you to evaluate keywords based on performance for each transaction type. Even seemingly relevant keywords may not provide the ROI you expect, so careful evaluation of the actual conversion and transaction data is essential for optimising your campaigns.

After selecting the relevant conversion tracking fields for your report, you can start evaluating your account's performance. Conversion rate and cost-per-conversion are important statistics to monitor, but each individual conversion can lead to multiple transactions as users shop for various products on your site or return later to make additional purchases. Consequently, your transaction and cost-per-transaction statistics can prove even more valuable, since acquiring regular customers is more valuable than any single conversion. Tracking your transaction statistics can provide valuable insight into the effectiveness of your advertising, as well as the effectiveness of your site and the value of your product offerings.

Advanced Option Conversion Statistics: The conversion tracking statistics in your AdWords account provide data for improving your ROI. When you select the advanced option, you will receive data based on the unique conversion values you have set.

Troubleshooting Tips 

Improving the conversion performance of low-ROI keywords can help make your advertising budget last. Helpful questions to ask include:

  • Are the keywords targeted and relevant enough to produce the desired results?
    If a keyword is too general, you run the risk of getting clicks to your site that are not really relevant, and have a lower conversion rate. By narrowing the appeal of your keywords (using tennis racket instead of just tennis), you will get more relevant clicks and customers coming to your website.
  • If the keywords are well-targeted, then is your site hindering your conversion rate?
    Taking a prospect directly to the most relevant page on your site can boost your conversion rate. Improving the usability of your site in general by making it easier for prospects to find and purchase your products or services can make a huge difference in your conversion rates.

Limitations 

The Google conversion tracking system has a few limitations. Because the tracking code is JavaScript function associated with a cookie, Internet users who have disabled cookies or JavaScript in their Internet browsers will not be tracked. For this reason, multiplying the number of clicks you have received by your Conversion Rate may not always be an accurate way to calculate the number of conversions you have received, but should be a close approximation. In your reporting, clicks which cannot be tracked are not included in your conversion data.

 
 

4e. Advanced Conversion Tracking

Introduction to Advanced Conversion Tracking

Objectives: Understand the functions of advanced conversion tracking options.

Background 

The advanced conversion tracking option enables you to select different values for each transaction type. You can even track dynamic values that change for each transaction (also called 'dynamic values'); for example, total purchase amounts.

To select advanced conversion tracking options and obtain your modified code, set up conversion tracking and click Advanced option to the right of each conversion type. You can set up conversion tracking by clicking the Conversion Tracking link, located beneath the Campaign Management tab in your account.

Conversion Types 

AdWords provides four types of conversions that you can define. These should cover the majority of the conversions you will want to track. These are: Purchase/sale, Leads, Sign-ups, and Page Views. You can also create your own conversion type using the Other label.

  • The Purchase/Sale label helps online commerce sites track purchases and sales.
  • The Leads label tracks how many users reached a point in your website at which they have contacted your company, such as completing a 'request more information' form on your website.
  • The Sign-ups label can track how many users elected to subscribe to a newsletter or to download a white paper.
  • The Page views label enables you to track when a visitor navigates to a specific page that you think is valuable.
  • The Other label enables you to define your own conversion type.

The transaction types are just labels; you are not restricted to tracking only these types of transactions. Transaction labels can be assigned to any conversion page you would like to track.

 
 
Getting Your Conversion Tracking Code

Objective: You will learn how to:

  • Define values for your conversions.
  • Implement and verify your conversion tracking code.

Static Variables 

The advanced conversion tracking option enables you to define a value for each transaction. If the value of each transaction (conversion) does not change (that is, it is static), use the Value field, which accepts integer values. For example, if you are tracking signups for a newsletter on your site, and you have determined that signups are worth £25 to your company, you would enter '25' into this field. Entering a value for the conversion into the advanced field will allow AdWords to calculate the ROI associated with that transaction. Using the value of the transaction and the cost data, AdWords can get an accurate per conversion.

Non-Static (Dynamic) Variables 

You will often place conversion tracking code on a page that summarises for your users the total cost of their purchase. Since the value of each customer's transaction is different, the webpage uses what is called a dynamic variable. A dynamic variable is a value that changes based on automated calculations, and is part of the code on the page.

You can track dynamic transaction values by inserting a dynamic variable in the Value field when setting up conversion tracking.

Conversion tracking works with most of the popular webpage development languages available. For example, ASP users probably have a dynamic variable such as <%=totalValue%>, while sites built with PHP resemble <?echo $totalValue?>.

Verifying Your Code 

Verifying that you correctly added the conversion tracking code to your website is as simple as viewing your conversion page in any web browser. If you can see the Google Site Stats link, then the code has been correctly placed and you are now tracking conversions. However, there are some common errors that could provide irregular results for your conversion tracking statistics. Placing your conversion tracking code on the landing page of your ad, for example, would result in a 100% conversion rate. Similarly, if you run a report for your advanced transaction labels and do not receive the correct value for your transactions - or you are returned the correct value but the transaction type is incorrect - check to make sure that you have copied the conversion tracking code correctly and completely from within your account.